The History of Arts for All, Inc.

Originally, Arts for All was the fundraising committee of the Lawton Arts and Humanities Council (LA&HC), City of Lawton.  On October 27, 1977 the Council met and made three decisions:


·      Arts for All should be established as a separate corporation from the Lawton Arts and Humanities Council in order to do fundraising within the definitions of the tax laws.


·      Arts for All should assume the responsibility for the Fund Drive and for the Festival.


·      Lawton Arts and Humanities Council Chair should be elected as moderator for the first AFA meeting and the LA&H Council should be the instrument for setting up the organizational meeting for the purpose of establishing a Board of Directors.


With the express purpose of promoting the fine arts in Southwest Oklahoma, visionary community leaders began planning the organizational structure of Arts for All.  On December 2, 1977, Arts for All received its certificate of incorporation, and in March 1978, was granted the 501(c)(3) status.  In the spring of 1978, Arts for All took over the duties of hosting the Arts for All Festival.


By national standards, Lawton, Oklahoma is a small community for a united arts funding organization.  This is, however, a special community, made of special people, who have a sense of vision about the quality of life for themselves and their neighbors.


The Board of Directors meets the third Monday of the month, with exceptions, at 12 o’clock, noon.  The Budget and Allocation Committee has regular quarterly meetings.


Past Presidents of Arts for All

1978              Sam Ard
1978-79         Jim Sawyer
1979-80         Roger Wessels
1980-81         Joy Critz
1981-83         Sam Ard
1983-84         Tom Rheinlander
1984-85         Phil Ferrell
1985-86         Dick McBride
1986-88         Sandra Bennett
1988-90         David J. Mooney
1990              Ron Rhoads
1990-92         George C. Kent
1992-94         Bob Dickerson
1994-95         Jo Sartin
1995-97         Tony Pokorny
1997-00         Mark Norman
2000-01         Michael D. Taylor
2001-02         George C. Kent
2002-04         Jody Sherry
2004-05         Michael D. Taylor
2005-06         Mark Norman
2006-07        Teresa Jensen
2007-09         Ronda Norrell
2009-11         Sue Kremmer
2011-12         Tom Rine
2012-             Clem Wehner


    Revised: July 19, 2014.